GDD™ Morning Update: Paul Kalkbrenner, Kenny Glasgow, Louis Vivet, Melvv | Musique Non Stop


Friday, May 15, 2015

GDD™ Morning Update: Paul Kalkbrenner, Kenny Glasgow, Louis Vivet, Melvv

Property of Gotta Dance Dirty


Paul Kalkbrenner announces details of major label debut
Kenny Glasgow Releases Free Track
Louis Vivet Vibes Out On New Single, “Nightfall”
• Oh Wonder’s “Midnight Moon” Gets A Remix From Melvv


Paul Kalkbrenner announces details of major label debut

Paul Kalkbrenner will release his seventh album, the appropriately-titled 7, via Columbia Records and Sony International on August 7th. 

We first reported on the German star’s signing to the major label entity back in March, and the alliance has lent the former BPitch Control man a rare level of access. The label says Kalkbrenner was the “first artist to ever be given access to the master vaults and tapes of Sony and Columbia, where he had the chance to take samples from icons ranging from Elvis Presley and Johnny Cash, to Janis Joplin and Bob Dylan.” Free of the legal issues that plague modern artists who borrow from the past, Kalkbrenner used songs like Jefferson Airplane’s “White Rabbit” and Luther Vandross’s “Never Too Much” as ingredients for 7′s 12 tracks. 

The label is hosting the LP’s first single, the D-Train sampling “Cloud Rider,” on Spotify

01. Battery Park
02. Cylence 412
03. Cloud Rider
04. Shuffleface
05. Tone & Timber
06. Channel Isle
07. Feed Your Head
08. Papercut Pilot
09. Mothertrucker
10. A Million Days
11. Align The Engine
12. Bright Roller

Columbia Records and Sony International will release 7 on August 7th, 2015

(via RA)


Kenny Glasgow Releases Free Track

Ahead of his forthcoming full-length album—which will see release later in the year—Kenny Glasgow has released a new free track via his soundcloud page. “Closer 2 U” features Shanira Git and is a deep and rolling house cut filled with the producer’s infamous creeping melodies, spooky synths, and moody vocals, marking a new chapter in the former Art Department artist’s career. You can hear “Closer 2 U” in full below, along with Glasgow’s upcoming tour dates.

(via XLR8R)


Louis Vivet Vibes Out On New Single, “Nightfall”

Louis Vivet continues to expand its impressive discography with the release of “Nightfall” via Prep School Records. The LA-based duo have displayed a forward thinking vision for what rises above preconceived genre-limitations. Breaking through with a cover of 90’s anthem, “Save Tonight”, Nicolas II and Aria quickly positioned themselves as an act to look out for in 2015. Since their seminal induction into the dance music collective, Louis Vivet has since released their debut original in “Downbeat” and, most recently, an official remix of Pop/up-and-comer Phoebe Ryan’s “Dead”. Known for a style that blends electronica, progressive and melodic house, “Nightfall” completely changes the pace, showcasing Louis Vivet’s diverse musical palate.

“Save Tonight”, as well as the official Nigel Good remix, first displayed Louis Vivet’s talent for seamlessly utilizing both male and female singers. This latest effort begins with a signature vocal progression, mesmerizing listeners with its infectious yet subtle melody. “Nightfall” seamlessly transitions into its main sequence, drawing elements of deep house, future bass, and electronica. The beat pulsates throughout the entire track, meshing perfectly with its vocoded vocal chops. Once “Nightfall” reaches its conclusion, listeners will be clamoring to hit repeat before they know it.

Nicolas II, trained at USC’s Roski School of Fine Arts, oversees Louis Vivet’s visual identity. He creates original artwork for each release, carefully curating the distinctive identity that forms their brand. These elements are part of a complete package that defines them artists.

“Nightfall” is a welcomed addition to Louis Vivet’s impressive resume, which continues to permeate within the dance music collective on virtually every spectrum. With support from KCRW, Gareth Emery’s Electric for Life Podcast, the electronic blogosphere and LA’s premiere tastemakers, Louis Vivet is set to expand its brand into all territories.


Oh Wonder’s “Midnight Moon” Gets A Remix From Melvv

Melvv, aka Jeffrey Melvin is a producer/DJ hailing from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He’s honed his skills in music from a young age, training in percussion and Classical + Jazz Piano. Melvv’s music has been supported by the likes of; Cashmere Cat, Odesza, Ryan Hemsworth, and Mak J to name a few. He has been tapped as an “Artist To Watch in 2015″ by Indie Shuffle and Your EDM, so you can expect big things from the 18-year-old rising star.

For his latest release, Melvv puts a smooth future felt touch on Oh Wonder’s single “Midnight Moon.” Supported by Oh Wonder’s team and the duo themselves, this feel good remix is filled with quality production and proves yet again that this kid has a very bright future.

This post GDD™ Morning Update: Paul Kalkbrenner, Kenny Glasgow, Louis Vivet, Melvv appeared first on Gotta Dance Dirty.

via Gotta Dance Dirty http://ift.tt/1Fd7ap1
jQuery(document).ready() {